New Player New Game questions

A very good patch

Moderator: Matt Caspermeyer

Spaceshot
Infantery

New Player New Game questions

Postby Spaceshot » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:59 am

Hey, I'm new to Hyperion, yet have clocked over hundreds of hours on original efs. So I thought I'd be able to jump straight into a hyperion galaxy... having to learn EVERYTHING from scratch was hard so I stopped after about 4 turns of loosing alot. So I started with the original galaxy. This was really easy to own hard (getting 3 symbiot spitters and 2 symbiot spaceships before year 5000 is a bit of a cheat, but still), also I was on easy mode (no rebels/plague/food consumption) because I was really just exploring the mod not playing it full (as it was shown by owning like 4 planets (1 being another house's homeworld) by 4960ish).

So with that under the belt (didn't get that far in tech but couldn't be assed waiting for tech) I jumped back into a hyperion map (I think its corinthian). It was a bit easier but I kept getting like half+ cities taken over by rebels in the first turn or 2 (this was still on easy mode, I was taking small steps).

Now is the rebel infestation ment to be like 'NOM NOM NOM, we eat your cities and you just live with it'? because how am I ment to deal with like 5 super naval ships and 40-50 practically stronger than all my units (I have about 5-10 that can deal with them, unless I just send a group of 20 at once and lose half or more). How the hell do I do this? I know it might just seem like alot coming from original EFS but its extremely hard and a huge learning curve (not saying its bad, just frustraiting at times).